TRENTON, NJ — A new law in New Jersey requires an automated external defibrillator (AED) to be in New Jersey health clubs no later than Jan. 12, 2007. The bill requires that clubs have at least one AED on its premises stored in an accessible location known to employees. The AED must be tested and maintained. The club must also notify emergency services about the defibrillator, the type it owns and where it is located. Clubs must ensure that in addition to staff receiving CPR and AED training, one employee who is trained in CPR and AED use is on site during normal business hours.
Clubs that fail to follow the new law can be liable for a civil penalty of not less than $250 for the first violation, not less than $500 for the second violation and not less than $1,000 for the third and all subsequent violations.